Thursday, June 13, 2024

Italian FA to treat British and Swiss players as EU citizens

Must read

The Italian Football Federation (FIGC) has announced that British and Swiss footballers will be treated as European Union (EU) citizens for the purposes of squad registration from next season.

Italian clubs are only permitted to register two non-EU players per season due to measures first introduced in 2002.

Following a Federal Council meeting on Monday, the FIGC announced on Wednesday that the reform will be introduced for the 2023-24 campaign.

The FIGC and Serie A had both requested a change to the rules.

Britain voted to leave the EU in 2016 and officially left in 2020. Switzerland has never been an EU member but is part of the Schengen Area.

The change in the rules will have ramifications for AC Milan, who would have lost one of their non-EU registration slots after signing Ruben Loftus-Cheek from Chelsea this summer. Fellow summer arrival Christian Pulisic, the U.S. international, does not count towards the quota as he holds a Croatian passport.

A number of other British players have moved to Serie A in recent seasons. Fikayo Tomori joined Milan in 2021, while Chris Smalling and Tammy Abraham signed for Roma in 2020 and 2021 respectively.

Measures restricting the number of non-EU registered players were first introduced in Italian football ahead of the 2002-03 season and the two-player quota has been in place since 2011.


What Christian Pulisic said about his move to AC Milan

(Photo: Matthew Ashton – AMA/Getty Images)

Latest article